Let’s talk about Ed Sheeran’s new song

f4ce79814fa69e98_ed

Hello friends!

As most of you Ed Sheeran fans know, on January 6, Ed Sheeran came out with two singles, “Shape of You” and “Castle on the Hill”, as a preview for his new upcoming album and all I can say is wow! The song that I specifically want to talk about today is the “Castle on the Hill” song.

Before even listening to the lyrics, the song opens with a soft, super fast-paced guitar strum and drum beat which automatically gives the impression of a happy-feeling song. I mean, I can just imagine a bunch of happy and grateful people, children and adults alike, dancing on a field of flowers oddly enough.

Right off the bat, he begins the song with “When I was six years old I broke my leg,” and at first that seemed like a very in-your-face line to begin a song with but as he progresses into the next phrase before the chorus, he continues by singing, “I was younger then, take me back to when…” and automatically I realized that he was reminiscing about his childhood. Also during this time, the drums transition into a different drumming pattern and the addition of male vocals join the mix to create a gradual build up toward the chorus. The musicality of this transition really creates a reminiscing atmosphere when all of our days were filled with hope and wonder.

What I love most about this song is that the chorus always begins by stating “I’m on my way” followed by a childhood memory and ending with “and I miss the way you make me feel, and it’s real. We watched the sunset over the castle on the hill.” Meanwhile, the drums increase in tempo with a loud, rhythmic consistency and with the addition Ed’s passionate voice, it makes this scene very exciting. I mean face it, we all miss our childhood “when we did not know the answers” and can essentially be the most careless person in the world. He just really made this fact come to life with this song.

Right when the bridge comes in, the song quiets down with a soft violin sounding chord entering and Ed then flies back to reality and explains how even though everyone is doing their own thing now, either the good or the bad, they were the people who developed and shaped him into the person he is today and for that sole reason, ” [he] can’t wait to go home.”

The feels of this song is very strong, friends. If you haven’t listened to the song yet then here it is for ya. Let me know what you think of it!

 

 

Leave a Reply

